The Lion Gate Mycenae – Not far from the Treasury of Atreus or Agamemnon’s Tomb we find the ancient city of Mycenae. The entrance to the city was guaranteed by a very particular door: The Lion Gate Mycenae.
The fortification wall of the Mycenaean acropolis follows the natural contour of the ground and is founded directly on the outcropping bedrock. It is in the shape of a triangle and covers an area of 30,000 sq. m. with a total length of 900 m. It was built in three construction phases.
The oldest fortification, which dates to 1350 BC, contained the highest part of the hill. For the construction of these walls were used boulders of hard limestone bedrock.
The Lion Gate Mycenae: Video
Watch the following video and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel if you aren’t already subscribed! Subscribe here!
The Lion Gate Mycenae: description
The Lion Gate Mycenae is characterized by a central slab supported by two lateral ones. Rectangular stone rocks are placed one above the other except for the suspended central slab. A pure aesthetic factor?
The heavy stone rocks were not placed on the central slab in order not to weigh them down. There was in fact the risk that otherwise it could be broken. For this reason, it was left empty. In order not to leave it completely empty and to complete the work, a decorative plate was placed.
Why is it called Lion Gate?
The Lion Gate Mycenae takes its name from the decorative plate placed on the top of the door. It is called the Lion Gate but it would be more correct to call it the lionesses Gate. The lions on the slab lack the characteristic mane of the lions.
The decorative slab is now partially ruined by time but the 2 lionesses must have originally had their heads turned towards those who entered.
Posts related to the “The Lion Gate Mycenae”: